A Brief Profile of Commercial Taxes Department, Government of Telangana

The Commercial Taxes Department is one of the key Revenue earning departments of the Government of Telangana. The following Acts are administered by the Commercial Taxes Department.

I. The Telangana Value Added Tax Act, 2005.
II. The Central Sales Tax Act, 1956.
III. The Telangana Entertainments Tax Act,1939.
IV. The Telangana (Telangana Area) Horse Racing and Betting Tax, Regulation, 1358 Fasli.
V. The Telangana Tax on Professions, Trades, Callings and Employments Act, 1987.
VI. The Telangana Tax on Luxuries Act, 1987. VII. The Telangana Tax on Entry of Motor Vehicles into Local Areas Act, 1996.
VIII. Telangana Rural Development Cess Act, 1996.

Structure And Organisation:

Telangana Sales Tax Appellate Tribunal

The Telangana Value Added Tax Appellate Tribunal is allocated at Hyderabad. The Tribunal Comprises of a Chairman and two other members to exercise the functions conferred on the Appellate Tribunal by the Act. The Chairman shall be a judicial officer not below the rank of District Judge Grade-I and of the other two members one shall be an officer of the State Government not below the rank of a Joint Commissioner of Commercial Taxes and the other shall be an officer of the Indian Revenue Service not below the rank of a Additional Commissioner. The Territorial Jurisdiction of the Tribunal is as follows:

All appeals preferred by the dealers, registered and assessed in the circles located in the following districts:

1) Adilabad, 2) Nizamabad, 3) Karimnagar, 4) Warangal, 5) Khammam, 6) Ranga Reddy 7) Medak, 8) Hyderabad 9) Nalgonda, and 10) Mahaboobnagar.

I.T. Initiatives of the Department

The Commercial Taxes Department is one of the frontrunners in the use of Information Technology to provide Just & Fair Tax Administration. Most of the important functions of the Department have been made online. Key Dealer services such as Registration, returns & registrations are also available online.

Key Online Dealer services are as follows:
• e-Registration
• e-Return
• E-Payment
• E-waybill
• E-Checkpost
• Submission of certain Forms online( such as 501/501 A/501 B)
• VAT 250: Online application for Composition by Works Contractors
• CTD Portal : Prompt Dissemination of Information
• CTD orders